life through my lens

my passion is travel; my enjoyment photography

Afternoon Tea 60’s style

My daughter is currently house-hunting. Last week took us to Margate for a few viewings. While we were there, we stopped for afternoon tea at the Walpole Bay Hotel. I love this particular hotel. It has that 50’s / 60’s seaside resort type decor going on. Lots of bits and bobs of old stuff is littered everywhere. The settees are leather, wide and deep, the kind you sink into. The lift is in a word; ‘ancient’. It even smells like a 50’s hotel and the dining room is typical of that era. I hope they never change it.

afternoon tea at the walpole bay hotel margate

Afternoon Tea – love the silver teapots…..

The scones were fresh and slightly warm, just the way I like; delicious. The only thing they could change is the cream….scones with jam and cream NEEDS clotted cream!

afternoon tea at the walpole bay hotel margate

Walpole Bay Hotel, Margate

 

October 4, 2016 - Posted by | my life, places that I've been, towns of the UK, travel | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

