life through my lens

my passion is travel; my enjoyment photography

The Old Curiosity Shop

A visit to Broadstairs is like opening a box of chocolates on Christmas Day. I remember the first time I heard about this little town. I was working for a client in Sevenoaks and she told me stories of how she used to take her young family there on holiday each summer. As you do, I formed images in my head of what the place would look like and envisaged a flight of ‘Broadstairs’ leading down to the beach.  Well, the images in my head didn’t match up to the reality…..the reality is wayyyy better. With the Vikings landing here in 475, smugglers tunnels beneath the streets, Napoleon’s Standard being brought here from Waterloo in 1815, then Dickens living here on and off in later years, Broadstairs is awash with history. It also has one of the best darn beaches in Kent.

The Old Curiosity Shop, Broadstairs

The Old Curiosity Shop, Broadstairs

p.s. The Old Curiosity Shop sells a delicious Carrot Cake 😉 (tip: they only take cash)

September 25, 2016 - Posted by | my life, photography, towns of the UK, travel | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

