life through my lens

my passion is travel; my enjoyment photography

a trip to Cottenham, Cambridgeshire

I recently spent 5 days in a quaint English village that goes by the name of Cottenham. (see my blog on http://www.notjustagranny.wordpress.com Whilst there I had time to explore and discovered many interesting houses and nooks and crannies.  Of course as is usual I took loads of photos, but this is my favourite.  I adore Gothic architecture and this is just marvellous.

detail above the front door of the Gothic House, built in the 1730's

 

I also had a chnace to visit the Cottenham Moat, listed by English Heritage as a scheduled ancient monument.  The remains of an old Saxon settlement.  A beautiful area, filled with wild grasses and the sound of birdsong

Cottenham Moat, and area of natural beauty and birdsong

May 30, 2010 - Posted by | my life, travel, villages of the UK | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

